Cooperative Membership Meetings

Cooperative Membership Meetings

Annual Meeting Registration
The 79th Annual Meeting of the Membership, held September 12 at the Lubbock Memorial Civic Center, was the grand finale of three membership meetings held this year. The first two membership meetings were held in July near our local offices in Spur and Childress.

As a consumer of South Plains Electric Cooperative, you are also one of the member-owners. As such, a cooperative business invites you to attend an annual membership meeting to hear reports, ask questions and elect your local board of directors.

We say “invite,” but actually, it’s part of your responsibility as a cooperative member to be informed and participate in the governance of your electric cooperative. The success of South Plains Electric Cooperative depends on each individual member’s involvement.

Childress Meeting
The Childress Membership Meeting was held on July 18 at the Childress Expo Center. The Plaza, from Childress, served dinner to 229  members and guests at the meeting.

Board President Tommy Joines reviewed the Cooperative’s financials and overall state of the business. General Manager Dale Ancell presented a video highlighting the Cooperative’s 80 years of member service. Recognition was given to this year’s Youth Tour and Operation Round Up Scholarship recipients.

Two employees were recognized for their years of service: Anthony Elliott, 5 years and Jason Smoot, 10 years.

The evening always ends the same—with door prizes! The grand prize was awarded to Dale and Lilissa Inman of Childress.

Spur Meeting
The Spur Membership Meeting was held on July 20 at the Spur High School cafeteria and auditorium. The Cooperative appreciates being able to use the school’s facilities to conduct business inside, out of the summer heat. River Smith’s from Lubbock catered a catfish and chicken dinner to appoximately 302 members and guests.

President Joines and General Manager Ancell gave their reports and presented a video highlighting the Cooperative’s 80 years of member service. Recognition was given to this year’s Youth Tour and Operation Round Up Scholarship recipients.

Six employees received service awards for their combined 105 years of service: Kayla Bateman, 5 years; Ralph Frausto, 15 years; Robert Daughtry, 20 years; Leo Day, Jr., 20 years; Kevin Swaringen, 20 years; and Ronald Todd, 25 years.

Employees handed out great door prizes, and the grand prize was awarded to Gwen Gillham of Spur.

Annual Membership Meeting in Lubbock
The official Annual Membership Meeting is held in Lubbock where the Cooperative is headquartered.

This meeting happens on a grand scale. With 656 members registering for the meeting, it means we provided dinner for 1,727 guests, because members always bring their families. River Smith’s provided a delicious meal.

The business meeting was called to order and the membership seated four directors to board positions. Directors elected were: Marvin Schoepf, David Gossett, Glenn Jones, and Larry Browning.

Board President Tommy Joines welcomed the members and talked about growth and high standards for member service. General Manager Dale Ancell shared a video highlighting the Cooperative’s 80 years of member service.

Director of Communications Lynn Simmons spoke about community level support with programs such as Operation Round Up grants and scholarships, sending students on the Youth Tour, and the money being saved using the Co-op Connections Card.

Fourteen employees were recognized for their combined 250 years of service to the members of South Plains Electric Cooperative: Bryan Eisman, 5 years; Dianne Hewett, 5 years; Chelsey Phillippe, 5 years; Matt Truax, 5 years; Camron Dunn, 10 years; Jake Terrell, 10 years; Theresa Atchley, 15 years; Clay Hallett, 15 years; Brenda Smith, 15 years; Brent Adcock, 20 years; Garrick Hurst, 20 years; Danny Crabtree, 40 years; Joe Salinas, 40 years; and Janie Gomez, 45 years.

We thank our door prize sponsors: All Texas Builders, Brazos Electric Power Cooperative, Gallagher’s Apples, Golden Spread Electric Cooperative, Plains Capital Bank, SGS Engineering, TEC Utility Supply and Service and Xcel Energy.

The grand prize of $500 went to Amado Portillo of Lubbock.
Page Features: